## Special Board Meeting, April 27, 2021 at 6:00 p.m.

The special meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m. by Board President S. Sullivan. Roll Call: P. Daly, J. Hastings, J. Powers, J. Reick, L. Rewerts, D. Ruder, S. Sullivan, Supt. Decman, and other visitors.

Pledge of Allegiance.

A motion was made by D. Ruder and was seconded by J. Reick to adopt the County Clerks' canvass and certification of votes cast at the April 6, 2021, nonpartisan election of the Board of Education and winners of the election. P. Daly, aye; J. Hastings, aye; J. Powers, aye; J. Reick, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

A motion was made by D. Ruder and was seconded by J. Powers to approve the minutes from previous meeting(s): April 12, 2021 @ 6:00 p.m. – Regular Executive/Closed Session; April 12, 2021 @ 7:00 p.m. – Regular/Open, as recommended. P. Daly, aye; J. Hastings, aye; J. Powers, aye; J. Reick, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

There was a recognition of members leaving the Board: David Ruder (12 years) and Patrick Daly (16 years)

There was a discussion regarding two vacant Board of Education seats. Both leaving Board of Education members agreed to being appointed to serve a 2-year term.

A motion was made by J. Powers and was seconded by J. Reick to appoint David Ruder and Patrick Daly to serve on the Board of Education for 2-year terms (which will last until after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election) to fill the (2) vacant seats. P. Daly, aye; J. Hastings, aye; J. Powers, aye; J. Reick, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

S. Sullivan appointed Supt., Dr. Decman as President Pro Tem.

Joseph Powers, Laura Rewerts, David Ruder and Patrick Daly were sworn in as members of the Herscher Community Unit School District No. 2 Board of Education.

## **Reorganization of the Board:**

A motion was made by J. Powers and was seconded by D. Ruder to nominate and elect S. Sullivan as President of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election.

Nominations were closed. After a 7-0 vote for S. Sullivan, **Sally Sullivan was named the President** of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election.

A motion was made by L. Rewerts and was seconded by J. Powers to nominate and elect P. Daly as Vice President of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election.

Nominations were closed. After a 7-0 vote for P. Daly, **Pat Daly was named the Vice President** of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election.

A motion was made by J. Powers and was seconded by D. Ruder to nominate and elect J. Hastings as Secretary of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election.

Nominations were closed. After a 7-0 vote for J. Hastings, **Jason Hastings was named the Secretary** of the Board of Education until term ends after the Regular Board Meeting following the 2023 election.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed J. Hastings as Board Representative to the Illinois Association of School Boards. J. Powers was named alternate.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed J. Reick as Board Representative to the Kankakee Area Career Center. L. Rewerts was named alternate.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed J. Powers and volunteered herself to be on the Budget Planning Committee.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed D. Ruder and P. Daly to the Procurement Committee.

Board President, S. Sullivan appointed th	ne official depositories of District monies:
State Bank of Herscher	Illinois School District Liquid Asset Fund
Peoples Bank	Certificate of Deposit Account Registry Service (CDARS)
Midland States Bank	Campus State Bank
Municipal Bonds, as approved	First Trust Bank
Municipal Trust & Savings Bank	

There was a brief discussion regarding Board Member training.

A motion at 6:17 p.m. to enter into closed session for the purpose of considering information regarding possible litigation was made by J. Hastings and was seconded by J. Reick. P. Daly, aye; J. Hastings, aye; J. Powers, aye; J. Reick, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

A motion at 6:47 p.m. to come out of closed session was made by J. Reick and was seconded by D. Ruder.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

A motion to adjourn was made at 6:47 p.m. P. Daly, aye; J. Hastings, aye; J. Powers, aye; J. Reick, aye; L. Rewerts, aye; D. Ruder, aye; S. Sullivan, aye.

Ayes 7 Nays 0

President, S. Sullivan

Secretary, J. Hastings